Congressman John Shimkus

Representing the 15th District of Illinois


Shimkus Nominates 17 to Military Academies

Feb 2, 2016
Press Release

Effingham, Illinois – Congressman John Shimkus (R, Illinois-15) is announcing his 17 nominations to the military service academies. The congressman nominates, and then the academies themselves make the final determination whether a nominee receives an appointment to attend that academy.

"The academies look at academics, leadership, and physical fitness in order to assure a young person is well-rounded and able to cope with the uniqueness of attending a military school," Shimkus said. "As a West Point graduate, I am very proud of these young men and women for considering an academy for their college choice and am grateful for the honor of being able to nominate them.”

The four military academies that require congressional nominations are: United States Military Academy (USMA), West Point, New York; United States Air Force Academy (USAFA), Colorado Springs, Colorado; United States Naval Academy (USNA), Annapolis, Maryland; and United States Merchant Marine Academy (USMMA), Kings Point, New York. 

High school juniors, college students, or current members of the military who are residents of the 15th District and wish to attend an academy beginning in 2017 can request a nomination packet by writing Congressman John Shimkus, 15 Professional Park Drive, Maryville, IL 62062.  Those packets with complete requirements will be sent out in late summer. 

“Potential nominees complete applications with both my office and online with each individual academy they wish to pursue,” Shimkus added. “I again offer my congratulations to these outstanding students.”


Shimkus' Academy Nominees for the Class of 2020

From Clinton County, left to right: Elliott Palm of Carlyle (USAFA), Samuel Krebs of Breese (USAFA & USMA), and Bailey Hilmes of Carlyle (USAFA, USMA & USNA)

From Douglas County: Nicholas Bates of Tuscola (USAFA). Not pictured: Taylor Fritz of Arthur (USAFA, USMA & USNA)

From Effingham County: Ashton Haythorne of Effingham (USAFA). Not pictured: Matthew Funneman of Teutopolis (USNA)

From Ford County: Nicholas Meunier of Melvin (USMA)

From Lawrence County: Hannah Burkhardt of Bridgeport (USNA)

From Madison County: Eric Finch of Collinsville (USMA)

From Saline County: Christopher Carrigan of Carrier Mills (USNA)

From Vermilion County: Brady Taylor of Danville (USAFA & USMA). Not pictured: Joshua Cassem of Danville (USAFA & USNA)

Additional nominees not pictured

From St. Clair County: Joseph Heard of Belleville (USMMA)

From Richland County: Tanner Hout of Olney (USMA)

From Moultrie County: Ross Metzger of Gays (USAFA)

From Washington County: Andrew Hudspeth of Nashville (USNA)